My Travel Bucket List #5 - Diana Dornyai - dornyaid

My Travel Bucket List #5

A lot of us has the feeling of wanderlust like ‘I’ve seen this ad at a travel agency about this amazing place, I need to go there!’ or ‘I read so much about this country since I was young and I want to see it with my own eyes!’. Oh, yeah… see, hear, smell, touch, feel – experience the whole the journey!

I can’t sit on my butt anymore!

I always had this wanderlust since my childhood. I was born and lived in Hungary for 23 years, a beautiful country with its magnificent capital, Budapest – read my article about it here –, and many several different places to visit. Still, the feeling of ‘I need to go’ and ‘see the other parts of the world’ kept growing within me.

2 years ago, in summer I decided to take the first step, bought a flight ticket for my birthday in January and moved to England. I need to mention that this English journey of mine was highly motivated by an interesting love story, which’s been blooming ever since then – who knows what will happen in the future. Before I bought the ticket, I already knew England will only be a station during my journey, not the final destination where I’ll settle down and live happily ever after. One of the main reasons is I love warm and sunny weather so much! – the UK is definitely not famous for its dry climate with full of sunshine. The other thing is I simply don’t feel like ‘this is the place’ for me. Even though the UK is only a station in my life, I managed to visit 3 countries only last year – and I was working as a waitress at restaurant, so I think that’s pretty fair. My boyfriend and I celebrated his birthday in Italy, a few weeks after we visited my sister in Spain, and we also managed to fly back to Hungary for a while to see our family and friends at home.

Thinking About the Next Flight Ticket – List #5

My Travel Bucket List #5 - Diana Dornyai - dornyaid 7

Our Beloved Scratch Map

Approximately a year ago, we surprised ourselves with a scratch map on which you can scratch down the countries you’ve already visited and those parts become colorful. So, we have a lot of job to do with our beloved map. And these are the places that take a pretty nice place on the top of my bucket list.

#1 – Bali – Indonesia

My Travel Bucket List #5 - Diana Dornyai - dornyaid 2

I Love This View from the Island of Bali

Bali has a mesmerising temptation that has been attracting me for a long time now. That place over there on the other side of the globe is like an island of peace in our world. This attraction towards Bali started when I watched the movie called Eat, Pray, Love, where Julia Roberts starts travelling the world to find herself, her inner peace, and finishes her journey in Bali. I feel like there’s something over there I need to see with my own eyes – apart from the warm, sandy beaches and the sunny weather, haha! And one day, I will see it for sure!

#2 – India

My Travel Bucket List #5 - Diana Dornyai - dornyaid 5

Kino MacGregor

It’s been a little bit more than 2 months since I started practising yoga and it was one of the best decisions of my life. For me yoga isn’t only about different postures – asanas – and physical training. It also helps my mind and soul to get stronger and relaxed at the same time which brings yoga closer to my personality and my heart. India, where yoga is originally from, became one of my must-visit places because of this attraction and harmony I feel when it comes this new, relaxing, refreshing activity and hobby of mine. I chose the path of Ashtanga yoga which comes from Mysore, out of the mind of Shri K. Pattabhi Jois. My intention in visiting this city is to apply for a training course at Shri K. Pattabhi Jois Ashtanga Yoga Institute – hopefully next year –, learn the way from the humble masters of yoga and become a yoga teacher myself to share the experience and essence of yoga with others. At this part, I’d like the thank my friend, Kata Zöld who introduced the world of yoga to me for the first time, and thank Kino MacGregor who shared her One-month yoga challenge on YouTube, making it possible for me to begin my practice of yoga at home. Namaste! 🙂

#3 – Australia

My Travel Bucket List #5 - Diana Dornyai - dornyaid 3

Just Take It Easy & Enjoy the Beach

Australia is a country and a continent at the same time which is separated from the other parts of the world thousands of years ago, making it possible to create and protect its own flora and fauna. There’re several kinds of plant and animal species you cannot find anywhere else but here. Of course, this unique world has its own dangers as well but seeing a kangaroo, koala bear and a wombat totally worth some risk for me. Not to mention the people over there. I’ve heard about the Aussies being extremely friendly and I’d love to meet people boosted with energy, kindness and a good sense of humour. 🙂

#4 – The Netherlands

My Travel Bucket List #5 - Diana Dornyai - dornyaid 6

Defqon.1 Festival 2015 in The Netherlands

I’ve seen so many pictures about the capital of the Netherlands, Amsterdam. The architecture is so colorful and lively yet carries the historical motives as well. But to be honest with you, the main reason I’d like to visit the Netherlands is not wandering around this time. My boyfriend and a few Hungarian friends of ours told me a lot about a summer weekend festival over there called Defqon.1, which is often visited by the people who have a passion for hard style music. So, I’m more than happy to try this new experience – with some caution and responsibility of course – and have a good party with my friends and other people from all around the world. By the way, if you’re interested in Defqon.1 but you don’t live in Europe, it’s also held in Australia and Chile – maybe one of them is closer to you.

#5 – Japan

My Travel Bucket List #5 - Diana Dornyai - dornyaid 4

Sakura Blooming in Japan

The Japanese culture has always interested me since my childhood. It probably started with the love of animes – Japanese animation movies – which I watched with original Japanese dubs and English subtitles. Since I wanted to understand more, I started learning Japanese in grammar school where I learned more of the culture as well. During my studies, there was an opportunity to visit Japan for a few weeks but unfortunately, I didn’t have much money that time and I couldn’t go. But I never gave up on this plan of mine, so it’s better late than never.

So, these are top 5 of my travel bucket list where I plan my journey to. After seeing these countries there’ll be still a lot to visit, so I’m pretty sure I won’t be bored. And we need to scratch down all the brown marks on our map. Now, we’re thinking of applying for a summer seasonal work in another country to get into a new, boosting environment, fill ourselves up with energy and save some money. We haven’t thought about the exact location but we should decide soon, since the season starts in May – if you have any experience in this then we’d be more than happy if you can share those with us along with your advice!

Do you have the same wanderlust like me? Where have you been so far? Have you ever visited any of these countries I mentioned in my Travel Bucket List Top 5 above? How did you like it? Tell me everything about it so I can extend my list with further must-see places! Thank you!

If you liked my post and waiting for more to come, subscribe to my blog page. Also, follow me on TwitterInstagram and Pinterest, and find me on Facebook as well, where we can share more mutual interest with each other! Or simply drop me a line, if you’d like to share your thoughts with me in private.

One thought on “My Travel Bucket List #5

Leave a Reply

