A Soup for The Soul in The Winter Cold - dornyaid - Diana Dornyai 5

A Soup for The Soul in The Winter Cold

Nowadays, the internet is full of memes and one of the most popular is coming from Ned Stark of Game of Thrones: ‘Winter is coming…’ as he said. It is indeed, along with the cold it’s the season of sneezing, sniffing and getting ill. Of course, the best is prevention like dressing layered and well, taking vitamins, eating healthy, etc. But sometimes it’s too late, you sucked already, hit the bed with lack of energy, fever, you can’t see, breath nor speak articulately, you’re not even yourself. You hate it, don’t you? Okay, then let’s fix this!

A Soup for The Soul in The Winter Cold - dornyaid - Diana Dornyai 1

I believe, all of us can remember when we take a look back to our childhood, our mommy, granny, her mommy and granny, all of them had their homemade tricks to scare the illness away from the body of their loved ones. There’re things like a warming hot bath with a mug of Camomile tea freshly coming from the stove with some honey added to it, our mom’s very own secret healing soup recipe, etc. Everyone has a similar, yet little bit different remedy to deal with an illness.

Emergency! We Have a Man-Flu Here!

A few days ago, I needed to figure out something myself urgently, since my boyfriend got ill and I wanted to take action as soon as possible. Both of us have quite tough immune system, but in the past few weeks we got exhausted because of the stress around the moving, new flat, new job, new environment, everything new and unknown for us shortly made me ill as well. Where you can find stress, the body and the immune system weakens and gets less secured. BUT! On the other hand, I’m happy and thankful that illness exists. You’re probably sitting there and thinking ‘Is she crazy?!’ or ‘Excuse me, is something wrong with you?? How can you be HAPPY and THANKFUL for something like an illness??’. No, my friend, before you close this page, let me explain why there’s nothing wrong with me. Moreover, on the contrary: If you don’t pay attention to the signs of stress, your negative thoughts and feelings, the body gives you the physical sign like ‘Oi, mate, wake up! It’s really time to look after yourself, I mean like NOW!’. So yeah, that’s reason. I live by the Law of Attraction for more than 10 years now, but even I can lose it sometimes – by this I mean not paying attention to the signs before the physical ones. And recently this happened to my boyfriend and now – at this particular moment – to me as well. But let’s talk about our first patient. Since, we’re talking about a boyfriend being sick, the girls probably already got we’re dealing with a ‘Man-Flu’ here – that’s what HE said to me. So, when men catch a simple, little cold, it’s totally different, more likely the end of their lives. They’re literarily dying. That’s happening to Szabi as well, so let’s put his shit together!

Healing Tea

The usual symptoms of a simple cold are runny nose, sneezing, headache, sensitivity to cold, loud noises, basically to the whole environment. Personally, when I start feeling these, I like taking a clove of raw garlic in the morning with a glass of water every day and also drinking hot water with juice of a whole lemon in it 3-5 times a day to make my immune system stronger and resistant. I’m a kind person who prefers to avoid medicines as long as possible and find the solution in the kitchen shelf of home remedies. And that’s what I did now again. The first thing came to my mind was a hot vegetable soup with as much ingredients as I can squeeze into the pot, and a mug of organic herbal tea with the juice of a whole lemon, 2 cloves of garlic and a tablespoon of honey, also organic – you can see it below along with the tea.

A Soup for The Soul in The Winter Cold - dornyaid - Diana Dornyai 2

Clipper® Snore & Peace Organic Tea

A Soup for The Soul in The Winter Cold - dornyaid - Diana Dornyai 4

Rowse® Organic Honey

This time I used the Snore & Peace Organic Tea from Clipper® which contains:

  • Chamomile (32%)
  • Lemon Balm (15%)
  • Lemongrass
  • Lavender (11%)
  • Fennel Seed
  • Rosehip
  • Spearmint
  • Natural Flavouring
A Soup for The Soul in The Winter Cold - dornyaid - Diana Dornyai 4

🍓 I Love My Strawberry Tea Filter 🍓

I try to develop and follow a healthy, suitable diet for me and my partner. For this reason, it’s really important for us that the ingredients we choose are organic, at least the most of them.

“Organic (of food or farming methods): produced or involving production without the use of chemical fertilizers, pesticides, or other artificial chemicals.” – Oxford Dictionaries

So yeah, we try our best.

The Soup for The Cold

The other thing I made was an easy-to-prepare vegetable soup. Since we had some ‘emergency’ frozen vegetable at home, I used those, but try sticking to fresh ones, purchasing from the local market is preferable. Don’t be surprised, because I use a large amount of garlic in my recipe. It’s because I love it and it’s a natural antibiotic for the body used for centuries along with its antiseptic, antifungal and antiviral properties. It’s a lot more effective to have it raw, but ‘the stinking rose’ is still useful when cooked. See the recipe below:

  • 2 tbsp. of Olive Oil
  • 1 head of Red Onion, diced
  • 5 heads of Garlic – app. 13-15 cloves (Yup, I said it)
  • 2 heads of Potato, diced – mine is from the local market
  • Mixed Vegetables – mine was frozen, unfortunately
    • Broccoli
    • Cauliflower
    • Carrot
    • Green Bean
    • Pea
    • Sweetcorn
  • 2 tbsp. of Paprika Powder – Hungarian
  • 2 tbsp. of Vegeta® Food Seasoning
  • 2 tbsp. of Mixed Herbs – Marjoram, Basil, Thyme, Oregano
  • White & Black Pepper by taste
  • 5 litres of Water
  • 4 hints of chilli flakes – your choice, I just simply love it with some spirit!

 

A Soup for The Soul in The Winter Cold - dornyaid - Diana Dornyai 3

Hungarian Paprika Powder

A Soup for The Soul in The Winter Cold - dornyaid - Diana Dornyai 5

Vegeta® Food Seasoning

First, peel the onion, cut it into dices, put them into the pot along with olive oil and start heating it in a medium level – I use an electric cooker with a scale of 0-9 and I used 6 at this time. Peel the garlic cloves as well while the onion is being fried. I put the whole cloves into the pot without crushing or cutting them into little pieces, but it’s up to you, the way you like it. Peel and dice the potatoes and add it to the pot along with the mixed vegetables and all of the spices. Fry these together for a few minutes, then pour warm/hot water onto it. Bring it to the boil then set the cooker on a medium level – level 4 on mine – until the potatoes get soft. After that just enjoy your meal right away and get better soon! 🙂

The first time I made this soup, I forgot the chilli flakes out of it since my boyfriend isn’t into spicy food – but I’m trying to strengthen the relationship between them. So, feel free to leave it out.

I made this soup 3 days ago, we ate all of it and my boyfriend’s been drinking the organic herbal tea-lemon-honey-garlic mixture since then and doing fine now. He still blows his nose but that’s all he has now. On the other hand, today I started to have a headache, a runny nose and sneezing, so I made the same soup for myself and I’m eating it while typing this article for you guys. Since, I reached the end of this topic and I’m running out of soup and tea, I’ll get some more and say goodbye for now. Thank you for reading and if you have any awesome home remedies that work for you or you have some ideas you’d like to try, just leave a comment about it below. I’m happy to read all of them – and try them as well. 🙂

So, get better everyone, look after yourselves and your loved ones in this cold weather. Winter is coming, Guys! Get prepared!

 

If you liked my post and waiting for more to come, subscribe to my blog page. Also, follow me on TwitterInstagram and Pinterest, and you can find me on Facebook as well, where we can share more mutual interest with each other! Or simply drop me a line, if you’d like to share your thoughts with me in private.

2 thoughts on “A Soup for The Soul in The Winter Cold

Leave a Reply

